AMVCA 2022: Full List of Winners

At an evening celebrating African talent, Stan Nze and Osas Ighodaro won Best Actor and Actress in a Drama respectively for the 2022 Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards.

Osas, who is Nigerian-American, beat out competition from Kehinde Bankole, Bisola Aiyeola and Nancy Isime, among others, to win the Best Actress in a Drama category.

She won for her role in the movie Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story.

Nze, who also stars in the movie Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story, beat out strong competition from Timini Egbuson, Gabriel Afolayan and Femi Jacobs.

The same film also sees the director, Ramsey Nouah win Best Director on the night.

Other actors who have gone home with the AMVCA awards include Funke Akindele who won Best Actress in a Comedy and Samuel Perry aka Broda Shaggi who won for Male Version in the same category.

The historical drama, Amina, by Izu Ojukwu and Okey Ogunjiofor won Best Overall Film.

2022 AMVCA Winners List

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Stan Nze – Rattlesnake

Best Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Osas Ighodaro – Rattlesnake: Ahanna’s Story

Best Original Drama Series Africa Magic

Rishantes – Dimbo Atiya

Best Actress in a Comedy

Funke Akindele – Omo Ghetto (The Saga)

Best Actor in a Comedy

Broda Shaggi/Samuel Perry – Decrease

Best Director (Film) – Ramsey Nouah for Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Film Overall – Amina by Izu Ojukwu & Okey Ogunjiofor

Best Original Africa Magic Comedy Series

The Johnsons – Rogers Ofime

Best Supporting Actor (Movie/TV Series)

Odunlade Adekola – Jankariwo

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series)

Omowunmi Dada – Hard Country

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series)

Gold Coast Lounge – Pascal Aka & Raquel (from Ghana)

Best Film – West Africa

Collision Course – Bolanle Austen-Peters, Joseph Umoibom and James Amuta

Best Film – East Africa

The Girl In The Yellow Sweater – Maroc Omari

Best Film – Southern Africa

Hairareb – Dantagos Jimmy-Melani

Best Short or Online Video

I am the prostitute mom described – Taiwo Ogunnimo

Best Documentary – If Objects Could Talk – Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz, Ann Katrina Boberg

Best Television Series – Drama or Comedy

The Mystical River – Rogers Ofime

Best Online Social Content Creator – Oga Sabinus

Best Cinematographer – Muhammad Attah

Best Image Editor – Tunde Aplowo for ‘Maria Ebun Pataki’

Best Art Director (Movie/TV Series) – Tunji Afolayan

Best Lightning Designer (Movie/TV Series) – Matthew Yusuf for Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Makeup – Balogun Abiodun for her work on Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Screenwriter (Film/TV Series) – Manie Oisomaye, Donald Tombia and Biodun Stephen for Introducing The Kujus

Best Indigenous Language Film or Series (Igbo) – Uche Nnanna Maduka

Best Indigenous Language Film or Series (Yoruba) – David Akande, Demola Yusuf, Edgard Leroy (Alaise)

Best Indigenous Language Film or Series (Hausa) – Rogers Ofime (speechless)

Best Indigenous Language Film or TV Series (Swahili) – Freddy Feruzi

Best Dressed Man – Denola Gray

Best Dressed Woman – Osas Ighodaro

Industry Merit Award – Taiwo Ajayi-Lycett

Best Multi-Choice Talent Factory – Daisy Masembe for ‘Engaito’

Trailblazer Award – Teniola Aladese