The new site of scientific journals distinguished among the best

Washington, DC — April 12, 2022 — The New Science journal website (, launched last September, was awarded one of the best scientific websites of the 26 Annual Webby Awards. Voting is open to the public until April 21 on:

Being honored as a Webby Award finalist makes the site for the Science journals – which are published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) – one of the top five websites in the world in its category, and among 12% of the more than 14,000 sites registered this year.

Built by Atypon Design Studio in partnership with Science, the new site makes content more integrated, discoverable and visually appealing than ever. Visiting readers can be informed at a glance about a wide range of critical science and policy issues, absorb new research from the six journals on a single page, find timely commentary and news at the forefront and s immerse yourself in award-winning visuals.

“It’s exciting to know that in addition to giving our readers more productive and immersive experiences with cutting-edge content, we’re also setting the standard for innovation and creativity on the web,” Holden said. Thorp, Science Editor-in-chief of journals.

Hailed as “the Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, the Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS), the leading international awards organization for excellence on the Internet. IADAS, which nominates and selects Webby Award winners, is made up of internet industry experts, including Kerstin Emhoff, co-founder and CEO of PRETTYBIRD; Colleen DeCourcy, President, Wieden+Kennedy; Arlan Hamilton, Founder and Managing Partner – Backstage Capital; John Hanke, Founder and CEO – Niantic; Nikole Hannah-Jones, creator – 1619, The New York Times; Renita Jablonski, Director of Audio – The Washington Post; Mikael Jørgensen, Founder and CEO – &Co; Swizz Beatz & Timbaland, music producers and co-founders – Verzuz; Vanessa Pappas, COO – TikTok; Daniel Reynolds, Vice President, Digital Media – Disney; Dara Treseder, Senior Vice President, Head of Global Marketing and Communications – Peloton; and Maya Watson, Global Marketing Manager – Clubhouse.

About the American Association for the Advancement of Science
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general science society and the publisher of the journal Scienceas well as Science Translational Medicine; Scientific signage; an open-access digital journal, Scientists progress; Sciences Immunology; and Scientific robotics. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million people. The nonprofit AAAS is open to everyone and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through science policy initiatives, international programs, science education, public engagement, etc. For more information about AAAS, visit

About Webby Awards
Hailed as “the Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, the Webby Awards are the leading international awards organization recognizing excellence on the Internet, including websites and mobile sites; Video; Advertising, media and public relations; applications and software, social networks; podcasts; Games and virtual and remote. Established in 1996, the Webby Awards this year received more than 14,300 nominations from 50 states and 70 countries around the world. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Webby Awards sponsors and partners include Verizon, WP Engine, Canva, Omidyar Network, YouGov, NAACP, KPMG, Fast Company, Wall Street Journal, MediaPost, Podcast Movement, TheFutureParty and AIGA.

Find the Webby Awards online:
Instagram: @TheWebbyAwards
Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards
TIC Tac: @thewebbyawards
LinkedIn: The Webby Awards

Warning: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of press releases posted on EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.